CUTCODEDOWN
Minimalist Semantic Markup

Welcome Guest
Please Login or Register

If you have registered but not recieved your activation e-mail in a reasonable amount of time, or have issues with using the registration form, please use our Contact Form for assistance. Include both your username and the e-mail you tried to register with.

Author Topic: Match Email Address problem  (Read 979 times)

GrumpyYoungMan

• Grumpy Young Man
Match Email Address problem
« on: 12 Oct 2020, 05:36:45 am »
Code: [Select]
if( ( empty($email) || ! filter_var($email, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL ) ) == ( empty($email1) || ! filter_var($email1, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL ) ) ) {

$errors[] = "Email Addresses are Invalid";
}

I am trying to make sure that $email and $email are the same, I thought I would be clever and try to do it in the one statement and you guessed it I can't any ideas on how I can? Please?
Trying to learn a new trick to prove old dogs can learn new ones...

Total Novice have-a go Amateur Programmer - not sure that is the right thing to say... but trying to learn...

GrumpyYoungMan

• Grumpy Young Man
Re: Match Email Address problem
« Reply #1 on: 12 Oct 2020, 05:38:47 am »
I was using the wrong operator!

if( ( empty($email) || ! filter_var($email, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL ) ) && ( empty($email1) || ! filter_var($email1, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL ) ) ) {

}

But I am sure Jason will have something to say? 

I was wrong it only half works....
« Last Edit: 12 Oct 2020, 05:43:37 am by GrumpyYoungMan »

Total Novice have-a go Amateur Programmer - not sure that is the right thing to say... but trying to learn...

GrumpyYoungMan

• Grumpy Young Man
« Reply #2 on: 12 Oct 2020, 05:48:50 am »
Works:
// Are email addresses the same and a valid format?
if ( ( $email != $email1 ) || ( ( empty($email) || ! filter_var($email, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL ) ) || ( empty($email1) || ! filter_var($email1, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL ) ) ) ) {

}

Jason Knight

• Administrator