CUTCODEDOWN
Minimalist Semantic Markup

Welcome Guest
Please Login or Register

If you have registered but not recieved your activation e-mail in a reasonable amount of time, or have issues with using the registration form, please use our Contact Form for assistance. Include both your username and the e-mail you tried to register with.

Author Topic: Annoying HDMI/DisplayPort problem...  (Read 576 times)

GrumpyYoungMan

• Grumpy Young Man
Annoying HDMI/DisplayPort problem...
« on: 9 May 2021, 04:49:26 am »
I have dual screens one of the monitors uses a HDMI to DVI cable and the other is DisplayPort, when the computer goes to sleep and resumes all the windows appear on the primary screen.

The system seems to wake up the HDMI port first and then switches to the Primary monitor which is DisplayPort...

Any ideas or suggestions? This wasn’t a problem up until I replaced one of monitors to use DisplayPort...
Trying to learn a new trick to prove old dogs can learn new ones...

Total Novice have-a go Amateur Programmer - not sure that is the right thing to say... but trying to learn...

Jason Knight

• Administrator
    • CutCodeDown -- Minimalist Semantic Markup
Re: Annoying HDMI/DisplayPort problem...
« Reply #1 on: 10 May 2021, 12:10:28 am »
Can't say I've seen that behavior, but then I usually disable sleep because I find it to be an unreliable shit-show on EVERY blasted OS. Don't get me STARTED about having to run modprobe every damned time I boot into some flavor of linsux just to get the second display recognized and the primary display to run at anything other than 800x600. Then people wonder why I say linux and pretty much all *nix implementations haven't even caught up to winblows 98 on basic functionality.

That and displayport is just pissing me off. I don't even have any displays that support it -- not even my year old 4k 65" TV has one -- and it's a PITA to get displayport narrowed down to dual link DVI for my 27" 1440p that's the primary on my workstation.