CUTCODEDOWN
Minimalist Semantic Markup

Welcome Guest
Please Login or Register

If you have registered but not recieved your activation e-mail in a reasonable amount of time, or have issues with using the registration form, please use our Contact Form for assistance. Include both your username and the e-mail you tried to register with.

Author Topic: Using CSS not  (Read 345 times)

durangod

• Weebles Wobble - but they dont fall down!
Using CSS not
« on: 22 Dec 2023, 11:15:49 pm »
So i am playing around with css not as i have never used it before and it could come in very handy at times.  But i am having an issue with it in my editor (ace)

Code: [Select]

//this one gives me errors
   //dont use adjoining classes
   //the first line is line 123
   // Expected LBRACE line 123 col 53
   //and unexpected token ')' line 123 col 53
.windowbg.solved:not(.sticky, .locked, .approvetopic) {
    background: #340909;
}

//however if i do them all individually it works no errors just a info warning about adjoining classes

.windowbg.solved:not(.sticky) {
}

.windowbg.solved:not(.locked) {
}

.windowbg.solved:not(.approvetopic) {
}

I do see in the docs that the first example is syntax correct. I thought maybe there might somehow be an invisible character in there but i typed it by hand so that is not the issue. 

Is that not proper syntax or is it my stupid editor that is the issue?
« Last Edit: 22 Dec 2023, 11:18:04 pm by durangod »

Jason Knight

• Administrator
    • CutCodeDown -- Minimalist Semantic Markup
Re: Using CSS not
« Reply #1 on: 23 Dec 2023, 11:09:23 am »
What have I told you about what editors think about what is or is not proper code? Stuff like this should be NONE of your editors huffing business!

Honestly this is the type of thing that shows why auto-complete, syntax highlighting, and IDE's in general are NOT your friend. Again, false simplicity. The proverbial ILLUSION of safety.
« Last Edit: 23 Dec 2023, 02:21:17 pm by Jason Knight »